Skip to content | Change text size

Film & television studies

American film scripts online (connect | more information)

Final release (Feb. 11, 2009) contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers. It also contains facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted. "Our research with historians and sociologists indicated that they wished to examine particular scenes and characters within a defined corpus of films. For example, they wished to view all scenes of domestic violence in films from the 1980s. The database has therefore been engineered to provide access at the scene or character level. It is possible, for example, to find more than 100 criminal characters in the database and view the scenes they appear in. It is equally possible to find all interior scenes in urban settings in the 1950s. These and countless other topics for further research can quickly be identified. The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. It allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes."--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • Amsterdam University Press [collection] (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian screen : Australia's audiovisual heritage online (connect | more information)

    "australianscreen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to ...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page.

    Australian screen. Education (connect | more information)

    "Developed by Curriculum Corporation through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources on the site. The clips in this collection are accompanied by teachers' notes created by specialist curriculum writers. Expert curators' notes also provide useful background material ... There are currently 1065 clips with teachers' notes."--Title page.

    digital culture art course (connect | more information)

    Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.

    Edinburgh University Press [collection] (connect | more information)

    Database of over 280 electronic books published by Edinburgh University Press. This Press is the premier scholarly publisher in Scotland of academic books and journals and one of the leading university presses in the UK. Main subject areas covered include: African studies; American studies; Classics; Critical editions; Film & media studies; Historical studies; Islamic studies; Language & linguistics; Law; Literary studies; Philosophy; Politics; Reference; Religion; Science and medical, and Scottish studies.--IG Publishing.

  • Includes full text
  • Film & television literature index with full text (connect | more information)

    "Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text ... is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books."--database description (viewed July 9, 2009)

  • Includes full text
  • Film index international (connect | more information)

    Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

    Film literature index (connect | more information)

    The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.

    University of California Press [collection] (connect | more information)

    Database of over 440 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help?
    Ask a librarian via email salibrary@lib.monash.edu, or phone +27-11-950-4050

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases