Skip to content | Change text size

General Electronic Resources

Academic earth (connect | more information)

The site offers 60 full courses and 2,395 total lectures (almost 1300 hours of video) from Yale, MIT, Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, and Princeton that can be browsed by subject, university, or instructor through a user-friendly interface. Additionally, editors have compiled lectures from different speakers into Playlists such as ¿¿¿Understanding the Financial Crisis¿¿¿ and ¿¿¿First Day Of Freshman Year.¿¿¿ The site also features a roster of famous guest lecturers on entrepreneurship and technology including Larry Page, Carol Bartz, Tim Draper, Elon Musk, and Guy Kawasaki. [Richard] Ludlow launched Academic Earth with the goal of building a user-friendly platform for educational video that would let anyone be able to freely access instruction from the scholars and guest lecturers at the leading academic universities.--Leena Rao, TechCrunch website.

Amazon.com (connect | more information)

Sales catalog including more than one million titles. Searchable by author, title, and subject keyword.

Annual reviews (connect | more information)

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ANZBiP-Books in Print : Australian and New Zealand Books in Print (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database provides booksellers and librarians with information about Australian and New Zealand books, series of books, and imprints. Information about publishers is listed in a separate file titled ANZBiP-Publishers. Ceased publication in December 2003.

    APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present.

    ARROW repository (connect | more information)

    "Monash University ARROW Repository is a digital archive of selected content representing Monash University's research activity. The repository provides Monash University staff and students with a place to deposit their research collections, data and related publications so it is centrally stored, managed, and is discoverable online by their peers globally and also by the broader community. The repository is intended to be primarily an open access source of publicly funded research. The repository contains accepted versions of published works, like books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers. Non-published manuscripts and grey literature like thesis, technical reports, working and discussion papers, and conference posters and collected. Research data holdings, data sets, collections of images, audio and video files are also actively sought."--About page.

  • Includes full text
  • AUSTGUIDE (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and selectively abstracts articles from more than 120 predominantly Australian periodicals of both general and educational interest. Film reviews are also included. Coverage: 1986 to 2006.

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Australian directory of philanthropy online (connect | more information)

    "The Online Directory contains: over 300 entries from grantmaking organisations & corporate funders [and] instructions on how to apply for grants including grantseeking tips and tricks."--Home page.

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Cambridge books online (connect | more information)

    Cambridge Books Online provides a gateway to ebook publications of the Cambridge University Press imprint, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences. (Only ebooks purchased by Monash University Library are available as full text access).

  • Includes full text
  • Cambridge journals online (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

  • Includes full text
  • Citebase.eprints.org (connect | more information)

    Citebase is a prototype OAI harvester which provides users with the facility for searching across multiple archives, with results ranked according to many criteria, including citation impact with citation linking. Abstracts and some full records are also available. Citebase contains articles from physics, maths, information science, and (published only) biomedical papers.

  • Includes full text
  • Cities of the world (connect | more information)

    A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference papers index. See: COS conference papers index (connect | more information)

    COS conference papers index (connect | more information)

    This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. COS Conference Papers Index can also be searched as part of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management. Major areas of subject coverage include: agriculture; biochemistry; chemistry; chemical engineering; forestry; biology; environmental science; soil science; biotechnology; clinical medicine.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    CSIRO journals (connect | more information)

    Full text access of CSIRO journals, produced in cooperation with several Australian and New Zealand scientific societies, present the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists. All journals are peer reviewed with international readership.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.

    DART-Europe : e-theses portal (connect | more information)

    "The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is a searchable database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge. The DART-Europe Portal does not store theses, but it provides a link to at least one electronic copy of every thesis listed in its database. DART-Europe holds as much information as possible about each thesis, but this can vary, depending on the source of the information. As a minimum, details of the author, title and date of award are held. Many providers supply additional searchable information, such as abstracts and keywords."--Help page.

  • Includes full text
  • Directory of open access books (connect | more information)

    "The Directory of Open Access Books (www.doabooks.org), is a discovery service for peer reviewed books published under an Open Access license. DOAB provides a searchable index to the information about these books, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher's website or repository. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide the metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. These metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. At the start of the service there are just over 20 publishers participating with about 750 Open Access books and new publishers and books will be added [progressively]..."--Press release, The Hague, April 12, 2012.

  • Includes full text
  • Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)

    Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • Includes full text
  • Dissertations & theses collections : DTC (connect | more information)

    "Dissertations and Theses Collections (DTC) is an online union collection of Hong Kong postgraduate students' doctoral and master dissertations and theses indexed in the online catalogues of seven university libraries in Hong Kong. ... DTC facilitates users to search the dissertations and theses in any or all of the above university libraries simultaneously. It also creates links to the dissertations and theses records indexed in the libraries of your choice, and leads you to their abstracts and full text, if open access is available from the corresponding libraries"--Home page.

  • Includes full text
  • Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)

    Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.

  • Includes full text
  • eBook collection : EBSCOhost (connect | more information)

    Searchable full text database of EBSCOhost ebooks, including all titles formerly available on the NetLibrary platform (NetLibrary was acquired by Ebsco Publishing in 2010).

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • ebrary (connect | more information)

    A cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic publishers. New titles are being added regularly. (Note: only those titles bought by Monash University library are available for searching/browsing)

  • Includes full text
  • ECO, Electronic collections online (connect | more information)

    A searchable database of a collection of journals covering all subject disciplines. Searching across multiple journals and browsing within journals is possible. Bibliographic information is available for all journal issues. Full text articles, including original text and image content, are available for journal titles included in the institution subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • Emerald (connect | more information)

    Database of mainly business, information technology and engineering journals with a European perspective. Full text articles available for most titles from mid 1990's.

  • Includes full text
  • EU bookshop digital library (connect | more information)

    EU Bookshop is an online service giving access to publications from the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies. Now the EU Bookshop Digital Library will provide access to 12 million scanned pages in more than 110,000 EU publications. Launched at the Frankfurt Book Fair on the 16 October [2009], it offers all publications edited by the Publications Office on behalf of the EU institutions, agencies and other bodies since 1952. Access the digital library by selecting the option ¿¿¿Digital Library¿¿¿ in the search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • Europa : gateway to the European Union (connect | more information)

    EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties. Provides information on EU initiatives, policies, institutions and services, access to selected documents of the EU including the Maastricht Treaty.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text
  • Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text
  • Global books in print (connect | more information)

    Provides online searching of the American, Canadian and British Books in print family of databases simultaneously. Complete bibliographical citations of English-language books, audiobooks and videos are included, as well as selected reviews, information on award winners and bestsellers. Access to a comprehensive database of over 165,000 publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents is also available.

    Google scholar (connect | more information)

    Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • HighWire Press (connect | more information)

    Host site for over 340 journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Informaworld : journals. See: Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Informit (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 70 databases across a wide range of subjects, including Australasian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural studies. Content sources include authoritative publishers and peak research institutes from across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific. Includes 1. Informit Collections, providing cover-to-cover access to current and archived full text content from peer reviewed journals, eBooks, conference papers and reports; 2. Informit Plus Text databases, delivering access to index and abstract data from peer reviewed journals with selective links to thousands of articles in full text; 3. Indexes, providing instant, searchable access to up to forty years of index and abstract data from Australasia's leading research institutions.--Informit Products page.

  • Includes full text
  • IngentaConnect (connect | more information)

    Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • Internet archive (connect | more information)

    "The Internet Archive is a ... non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in the Presidio of San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections."--About the Internet Archive. Includes Wayback Machine for viewing web pages removed from the Internet, archives of images, sound files, music, texts.

    Jake : jointly administered knowledge environment (connect | more information)

    Jake is a reference source which indexes the journal contents lists of 195 online databases. It indicates whether journals and journal articles are available in full text or just as a citation, and in which databases they can be found. Jake can be searched by journal title, database, ISSN, or citation to a specific article using the journal details, volume, issue, page and year. A journal title abbreviation can also be searched to ascertain the full title of a journal.

    Journal citation reports. Science edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    Journal citation reports. Social sciences edition (connect | more information)

    This database is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from approximately 1,500 journals in the area of social sciences worldwide. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period. Journals can be ranked within a specific subject area.

    JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)

    Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.

  • Includes full text
  • Kungnip Chungang Toso¿¿gwan Cho¿¿nja Toso¿¿gwan= The National Library of Korea Digital Library (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Libraries Australia search [subscription service] (connect | more information)

    Libraries Australia is the search interface for Kinetica, an Internet-based service provided by the National Library of Australia. The service acts as a single gateway to a number of Australian and international databases which can be searched simultaneously. Specific databases include: National Bibliographic Database (over 13 million records for resources held in Australian libraries), Research Libraries Group Union Catalogue (over 138 million records for resources held in U.S. libraries), and Te Puna (records of resources held in New Zealand libraries), Australian Chinese Japanese Korean Database (1.44 million records), and Kinetica Authorities (1.6 million authority records). Links to resources include: Find a Library, Ask a Librarian, Australian Literature, Australian Law, Australian History, Australian Family History, Australian Science & Technology, Australian Government, Australian Statistics and Recent Australian Publications.

    Mind : the meetings index (connect | more information)

    This database provides free access to locate future events. Most listings are for conferences, congresses, meetings and symposia that eventually will result in published proceedings and therefore, be referenced in Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP). To locate an event, several search parameters are offered: keyword, sponsor, country, state/province, category and year. The categories that can be searched include: science/technology; medical/life sciences; pollution control/ecology; and, social sciences/humanities.

    MITopencourseware (connect | more information)

    "MIT OCW is a large-scale, Web-based publication of the educational materials from the MIT faculty's courses. This initiative enables the open sharing of the MIT faculty's teaching materials with educators, enrolled students, and self-learners around the world. MIT OCW provides users with open access to the syllabi, lecture notes, course calendars, problem sets and solutions, exams, reading lists, even a selection of video lectures, from 1550 MIT courses representing 34 departments and all five of MIT's schools."--web site.

    Monash University Bookshop (connect | more information)

    Sales catalogue searchable by ISBN/EAN and author, title and keyword. Coverage includes all subject disciplines with textbooks constituting only 15% of titles in stock.

  • Includes full text
  • MyiLibrary (connect | more information)

    MyiLibrary, distributed through Coutts Information Services, is an electronic platform which gives users desktop access to some of the most topical and current electronic content available today. MyiLibrary has partnered with numerous distributors to bring their content together in one aggregated database.

  • Includes full text
  • NetLibrary. See: eBook collection (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • NGA GEOnet names server : GNS (connect | more information)

    The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN. Approximately 20,000 of the database's features are updated monthly. Geographic Area of Coverage: Worldwide excluding the United States and Antarctica.

    NSTC : nineteenth-century short title catalogue (connect | more information)

    Catalogue of British books printed between 1801 and 1919. Includes all books published in Britain, its colonies, and the USA, as well as all books in English and all translations from English. A number of major library catalogues have been used, including: The Bodleian pre-1920 catalogue, the main catalogue of Cambridge University Library, Trinity College Dublin Library, National Library of Scotland, Harvard University's union catalogue, The Library of Congress MARC and PRE-MARC files and the British Library's General Catalogue of Printed Books to 1955. "Chadwyck-Healey's Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications ... NSTC brings together as one cross-searchable database NSTC Series I (1801-1815), Series II (1816-1870) and Series III (1871-1919) ... NSTC is a valuable tool for research supporting a wide variety of disciplines. NSTC includes well-known and obscure works of literature, important translations, legal documents, political pamphlets, medical and scientific monographs, journals, and periodicals, allowing users to build research bibliographies ..."--About page.

    OAIster (connect | more information)

    OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community. Users can search by keyword, title, creator, subject or resource type, and searches yield a detailed and well-organized description of the resource and a link to the resource itself. Indexed content includes the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, various pre-print and e-print servers, and digital thesis and dissertation collections. OAIster currently provides access to over 18 million records harvested from 1034 contributors. OAIster increases the visibility and accessibility of these unique resources by providing a 'broad, generic, information retrieval resource for information about publicly available digital library resources' via a single point of entry.

  • Includes full text
  • OECD iLibrary (connect | more information)

    "OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for books, papers and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters. OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently (October 2010) 1,000 journal issues, 2,900 working papers, 2,500 multi-lingual summaries, 6,200 e-book titles, 14,000 tables and graphs, 21,000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points."--About.

  • Includes full text
  • OECD. See: SourceOECD (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • on-line books page (connect | more information)

    Features an index of thousands of books that can be freely read on the Internet. Also includes pointers to significant directories and archives of on-line texts, and special exhibits.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford English dictionary (connect | more information)

    Contains the complete contents of the 20-volume Second Edition of the 'Oxford English Dictionary' 1989 and the complete contents of the three-volume Additions 1993-1997, Third Edition in progress (Mar. 2000- ) as well as quarterly releases of at least 1000 new and revised entries.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford journals (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Allows searching across the Oxford Journals collection or browsing by title.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest (connect | more information)

    Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest dissertations & theses : full text (connect | more information)

    "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text ... includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637."--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Proquest research library (connect | more information)

    "From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles - over 3,600 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers."--Publisher product description.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Ryerson index to contemporary death notices and obituaries in Australian newspapers (connect | more information)

    The Ryerson Index covers death notices and obituaries in 199 Australian newspapers (as at January 2012). The Index is an ongoing work-in-progress and is not a comprehensive index. Newspaper titles are predominantly from Sydney and country NSW, with papers from other states and territories indexed as well. The date ranges indexed vary from paper to paper and are not necessarily complete within that range. Most of what has been indexed is contemporary, that is, within the last 30 years. The Sydney Morning Herald is indexed from 1831.

    ScienceDirect (connect | more information)

    ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online eBooks, Reference Works, Handbooks and Book Series, ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

  • Includes full text
  • Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    Serials in Australian libraries : SIAL (connect | more information)

    Provides location details of serials in Australian libraries. Also available is a companion database - Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). The main sequence of the ILRS directory is arranged by NUC symbol, as displayed in the holdings statement of records in SIAL.

    SourceOECD See: OECD iLibrary (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text
  • STAT!Ref (connect | more information)

    StatREF includes general clinical medicine, pharmacology, physiology, surgery or psychiatry electronic books that can be searched individually or simultaneously. Alternatively, browse the table of contents for an individual book title. Link to Stedmans medical dictionary. Five concurrent users.

  • Includes full text
  • Taylor & Francis online (connect | more information)

    Portal to Taylor & Francis Group content, which includes: over 16,000 journal titles from the publishers Psychology Press, Routledge, and Taylor & Francis; reference works (Taylor & Francis encyclopedias); a database, Routledge ERA (Educational Research Abstracts Online), and subdatabases of ERA, Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts, Routledge ABES and Ergonomics Abstracts; ebooks; and a link to CRCnetBASE. Note: not all content is accessible to Monash University Library users.

  • Includes full text
  • TLS historical archive, 1902 -2006 (connect | more information)

    "Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. The complete run of the TLS from 1902-2006 is now available online as the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902 - 2006. The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2006 is the improved and expanded new edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. This new edition enables users to full-text search 153,000 pages of the TLS from 1902 to 2006 and discover a wealth of content in approximately 315,000 articles. The value of the TLS Historical Archive lies in its extensive cross-disciplinary reach, as the only literary weekly to offer comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages, across all areas of the humanities and social sciences. This unique digital collection offers thousands of book reviews - fiction and nonfiction, poetry, and covers every area of the visual and performing arts including film reviews, plays reviews and reviews of exhibitions, opera and theatre. It contains topical essays and criticism in the areas of science and medicine; art and architecture; history, music and religion; politics, economics and philosophy; exploration and sport; as well as engineering and town planning.""--Publisher description.

  • Includes full text
  • Trove : one search .. a wealth of information. (connect | more information)

    Trove is a new discovery experience focused on Australia and Australians. Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere. Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including: The Australian National Bibliographic Database - containing location information from more than 1,200 Australian libraries, The Picture Australia program, The Australian Research Online program, The Music Australia program, The Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts, and The People Australia program, and some overseas sources.

    Ulrichsweb : global serials directory (connect | more information)

    Features in-depth coverage for more than 300,000 serials from 90,000 publishers covering 950 subject areas and 200 languages. An authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information from periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.

    VICNAMES : the register of Geographic Names (connect | more information)

    This database holds more than 200,000 road and place names, including landscape features such as mountains and rivers, bounded localities such as suburbs, towns, cities and regions, and physical infrastructure such as roads, reserves and schools.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge products are high-quality research databases that you can access from the Select a Database tab. Databases available for Monash University Library users are: 1. Web of science, 2. Current contents connect, and 3. Medline.

    Web of science with conference proceedings (connect | more information)

    Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. The first three citation databases (Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)) contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work. The two conference proceedings citation indexes (Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)) include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines. Use these databases to track emerging ideas and new research in specific fields. The two chemistry databases (Index Chemicus (IC), and Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-Expanded)) allow you to create structure drawings to find chemical compounds and reactions. You can also search these databases for compound and reaction data.--Publisher description.

    Webster's unabridged dictionary (connect | more information)

    Webster's Unabridged is America's premier lexicographical work. This electronic version comprises the text of Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged, published in 1961, and subsequent updates which take account of current usage. The Merriam-Webster company has continued to update its files since publication of Webster's Third New International Dictionary. The source data for this electronic version of Webster's Unabridged was obtained in 1996 and so includes additional material and addenda included since publication of both the original 1961 edition and the updated 1993 edition. This version appears in electronic form for the first time.

  • Includes full text
  • White pages (connect | more information)

    Online telephone directory of Australian residential, business and government contact information.

    Wiley online library (connect | more information)

    Wiley online library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, encyclopedias, databases and handbooks. Includes Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews, many essential chemistry and evidence based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Library, eEROS and SpecInfo and 1000's of laboratory protocols from the distinguished Current Protocols series. The major collections of the Wiley online library are: Journals, Journal backfiles, Online books and book series, Online reference works, Wiley interdisciplinary reviews, Current protocols laboratory manuals, Evidence-based medicine databases, and Chemistry databases.

  • Includes full text
  • World Digital Library (connect | more information)

    The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials. The objectives of the World Digital Library are to promote international and inter-cultural understanding and awareness, provide resources to educators, expand non-English and non-Western content on the Internet, and to contribute to scholarly research. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

  • Includes full text
  • World who's who : Europa biographical reference (connect | more information)

    The comprehensive, newly-expanded World Who's Who brings together current and hard-to-find biographical information on almost 60,000 eminent persons in all fields. Current career, contact and other biographical details are provided, as are regular updates.

  • Includes full text
  • WorldCat (connect | more information)

    The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. It describes: books; computer data files; computer programs; films and slides; journals; magazines; manuscripts; maps; musical scores; newspapers; sound recordings; videotapes; CDs; CD-ROMs, etc. It does not include individual articles, stories in journals, newspapers or book chapters. Covers thousands of subjects and includes material in 400 languages, dating from as early as before 1000 B.C.

    Yellow (connect | more information)

    "In 2006 we changed our name from Yellow Pages to 'Yellow' to reflect the fact that today Yellow is much more than a print directory. Our comprehensive directory content is now available to more people in more ways. yellow.com.au: is one of Australia's most visited directory sites which puts businesses at the fingertips of more people everyday."--Publisher description.

    YouTube EDU (connect | more information)

    YouTube EDU, launched in March 2009, aggregates thousands of free lectures from over a hundred universities across the United States, including MIT, Stanford, UC Berkeley, UCLA, Yale, amongst others. YouTube Edu lets viewers sort clips by school or number of views, and the schools offer content ranging from complete courses to campus events to information for prospective students. Also, over 200 lecture-based courses in literature, history, law, engineering and other subjects are offered in their entirety through the site.

    YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)

    The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively.

     

    Need help?
    Ask a librarian via email salibrary@lib.monash.edu, or phone +27-11-950-4050

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases