| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index |
Performing artsKey resourcesArts & humanities citation index (A&HCI) (connect | more information)Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. AustLit : the resource for Australian literature (connect | more information)AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian Universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text. Researchers, bibliographers and librarians, working around the country, gather information about Australian writers and writing, providing authoritative information on and facilitating access to Australian literature--URL: http://www.austlit.edu.au/about. Dance in video (connect | more information)Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips. Film index international (connect | more information)Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. Film literature index (connect | more information)The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names. International bibliography of theatre & dance with full text (connect | more information)[A database] for the study of theatre and the performing arts. [It] was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. [The database] contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books and monographs.--Publisher description. JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive (connect | more information)Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases. Literature online : the home of literature and criticism (connect | more information)Literature online includes full text of over 350,000 literary works, and resources for over 16,000 authors spanning several centuries. It contains an extensive collection of criticisms, reference works and journals and includes the MLA Bibliography, and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1920 onwards. Quick search allows users to search across entire contents of Literature online from any page. MLA international bibliography (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present. Opera in video (connect | more information)Opera in Video presents a collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera. Project Muse (connect | more information)Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.
Other resourcesAEI : Australian Education Index (connect | more information)Australian Education Index (AEI), produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts documents from printed and electronic sources at all levels of education and related fields. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and web. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about Australian education published in overseas sources are also included. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. AEM : arts & entertainment management database (connect | more information)Arts & Entertainment Management Database (AEM), produced by the Faculty of Management, Deakin University, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on arts and entertainment management. Subject coverage includes the arts and entertainment environment, cultural planning, finance, funding, law, marketing, project/venue management, research, and technology related to the arts and entertainment industry. Coverage: 1982 to Dec. 2000. American film scripts online (connect | more information)Final release (Feb. 11, 2009) contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers. It also contains facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted. "Our research with historians and sociologists indicated that they wished to examine particular scenes and characters within a defined corpus of films. For example, they wished to view all scenes of domestic violence in films from the 1980s. The database has therefore been engineered to provide access at the scene or character level. It is possible, for example, to find more than 100 criminal characters in the database and view the scenes they appear in. It is equally possible to find all interior scenes in urban settings in the 1950s. These and countless other topics for further research can quickly be identified. The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. It allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes."--About page. Amsterdam University Press [collection] (connect | more information)A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences. Anthropology plus (connect | more information)Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Art full text (connect | more information)"Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus."--Publisher description. ARTbibliographies modern (connect | more information)
"ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing."--Publisher description.
Arts hub (connect | more information)Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry. ASIANRES : Asian resources : a select directory of databases (connect | more information)Directory contains detailed information on Asia-related databases and search services which are accessible from Australia. Primary focus is research, the social sciences and humanities, and the smaller less commercial databases that are being developed in the Asia-Pacific region. Asia as defined here, includes the Indian subcontinent, East Asia, and South East Asia. Coverage to Sep. 2001. Australian screen : Australia's audiovisual heritage online (connect | more information)"australianscreen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to ...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page. Australian screen. Education (connect | more information)"Developed by Curriculum Corporation through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources on the site. The clips in this collection are accompanied by teachers' notes created by specialist curriculum writers. Expert curators' notes also provide useful background material ... There are currently 1065 clips with teachers' notes."--Title page. Classical music library (connect | more information)Classical Music Library provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists. Early English books online (connect | more information)This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format. Eighteenth century journals (connect | more information)Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II), the British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library and the Brotherton Library (Eighteenth Century Journals IV). It brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature, the theater, and fashion throughout Europe; the origins and rise of Romanticism; political debates; gender, religion, influence of the press, and coffee house gossip and discussion. encyclopedia of popular music (connect | more information)Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is also entirely cross-searchable with Grove Music Online through the Oxford Music Online gateway. ERIC (connect | more information)
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education.
Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals. Grove music online (connect | more information)Includes the full text with ongoing updates of: The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed. (London, 2001); The New Grove dictionary of opera (London, 1992); and, the New Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed. (London, 2002). New articles and articles which have been updated since their appearance in print show a date in the upper right corner of the screen. Grove music online continues to grow with both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove dictionaries. Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)"Covers [full text sources] in agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing."--Informit home page. Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection. See: Humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)
International index to music periodicals full text (connect | more information)IIMP Full Text covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 440 international music periodicals, plus full text for 130 of the most important scholarly and popular musical journals.--Publisher description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Internet Broadway database (connect | more information)Official archival database for Broadway theater information. Features information on current and past productions in the Broadway theaters of New York City, including statistics, dates, cast, crew and creative staff credits, and roles and related facts. Oxford art online (connect | more information)Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art references (Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics) in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.--About page. Oxford music online (connect | more information)Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Philosopher's Index (connect | more information)
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields and monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
ProQuest (connect | more information)Proquest is a leading multidisciplinary portal providing access to a number of key online databases. This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic and professional disciplines such as business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, and medicine. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select from amongst individual database titles including: ABI/Inform complete, Accounting & tax, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Proquest computing, Proquest education journals, Proquest health & medical complete, Proquest science journals, Sociological abstracts, or Proquest telecommunications. A complete list of database titles available to Monash University students and staff is available at the site. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link PsycINFO (connect | more information)
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier.
RILM abstracts of music literature (connect | more information)
This database contains over 500,000 bibliographic citations and abstracts of scholarly music literature worldwide. Over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology.
Sociological abstracts (connect | more information)
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.--Publisher description.
Theatre in video (connect | more information)"From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the '50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the '60s and '70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience. The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Bertolt Brecht's Berliner Ensemble."--About. University of California Press [collection] (connect | more information)Database of over 440 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing. University of Hawaii Press [collection] (connect | more information)Database of over 340 electronic books published by University of Hawaii Press. UH Press' publishing program reflects the cultural milieu of Hawai'i, the academic strengths of the University of Hawai'i, and ... commitment to increasing the flow of scholarship across the Pacific and Asia. Key focus areas include: Anthropology; Archaeology; Art; Asian American studies; Biography; Biology; Buddhism; Ethnic studies; History; Language; Linguistics; Literature; Natural history; Philosophy; Religion; Science; Sociology and Theater.--IG Publishing. YouTube Library of Congress (connect | more information)The Library of Congress stores around 6 million films, broadcasts and sound recordings, but they aren't all immediately available on YouTube; instead, they're starting off with around 70 films. Currently, the videos include the National Book Festival author presentations, "Westinghouse" industrial films from 1904, as well as some of the earliest movies ever made by motion picture pioneer Thomas Edison. More videos and audio files will be uploaded progressively. Zetabooks (connect | more information)Zeta Books is an international academic publishing house with a focus on the Humanities, especially in translation studies, literature, history, sociology, anthropology, art, photography, neoplatonism, theatre and phenomenology. A small but expanding collection of ebooks is available in full text from this site.
Need help? |
|